Websites on Hallucinogens

Pappas, By Stephanie. “‘Magic Mushrooms’ May Permanently Alter Personality.” LiveScience. TechMedia Network, 29 Sept. 2011. Web. 30 Oct. 2015.

‘Magic Mushrooms’ May Permanently Alter Personality

I found this website by typing in “hallucinogens and empathy” in the google search bar.  It ended up finding the article “‘Magic Mushrooms’ May Permanently Alter Personality” which is by Stephanie Pappas, on livescience.com.  This website also has many other articles related to my topic of hallucinogens and their effects on empathy in people.  The author has her B.A. in Psychology from South Carolina, and is a contributing writer for Live Science.  What makes this site credible is that it has editors that review all articles before they are published.  I do have some reservations about the site, yet those reservations will apply more to the content of the articles that I read and not the site in its entirety.  I think that the information provided by this site will be used more as examples of viewpoints and also in helping write my essay in a way that is understandable for those that haven’t done extensive research on my topic as I have.

Fein, Eric. “The Extraordinary Benefits of Psilocybin in Magic Mushrooms – Wondergressive.” Wondergressive. Wondergressive, 14 Sept. 2012. Web. 30 Oct. 2015.

The Extraordinary Benefits of Psilocybin in Magic Mushrooms

I found this website by typing in “psilocybin and empathy” in the google search bar.  It lead to the article titled “The Extraordinary Benefits of Psilocybin in Magic Mushrooms” by Eric Fein on wondergressive.com.  This websites mission is to share and spread valuable information. In their mission statement, they say that they make a claim, reference statistics and present the information with facts to back it up.  They also cite their sources for each article with a link included so that readers may also review their research.  These details all lead me to believe that the site is credible and reliable to use.  I think that this website itself will be used mainly for viewpoint comparisons, but since it does provide links to scholarly articles about my topic as well, I may use it as a means of helping find more information.

2 comments

  1. gunnar09 · October 30, 2015

    I think you had a good evaluation of both of these sites and you are correct that these sites should both be useful for a point of view. I didn’t see too large of a bias in either site and I think both are fairly credible because I didn’t see anything that would lead me to believe differently. I also think it is a plus that the author of your first site also has a degree in psychology which means her facts will more likely also be accurate. One problem I notice is that both of these sites contain similar information, but that can be used to show the support for that point of view.

    Like

  2. camkiss13 · October 30, 2015

    I think that the first site you found is fairly credible. The fact that the author has a degree in psychology makes her seem worthy enough to write on shrooms and the effects they can have on the brain. It looks like you could easily use both articles as viewpoints, but I noticed that in your second website, the author of the article isn’t very well known. When I read about the author, it didn’t include any education; just that he loves getting lost because it makes him feel like he’s headed in the right direction. I would question the credibility of the author, because when I searched him on Google, all I found was a lawyer and someone in marketing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

